How to Get Your Pasco County Accident Report
If you are in a vehicle accident, it is important that you have access to the official report to be able to file a claim and be compensated for your injuries.
You may be wondering how to get your Pasco County accident report and what next steps to take.
Wendy Doyle Palumbo is an experienced personal injury attorney who can help you determine the best strategy to optimize your recovery. The first step is making sure you have all the necessary information.
How to Get Your Pasco County Accident Report
If you are in a Pasco County automobile accident, your accident report can be obtained through the Pasco Sheriff’s Office. You may make a records request in several ways including:
- Phone, or
- In person.
It is important to have all pertinent information available at the time of your request, including the date of the accident and the names of the people involved.
Get Your Pasco County Accident Report Online
The Pasco Sheriff’s Office uses the online portal GovQA to process record requests such as accident reports. To use this service, you will need to create an account. One of the benefits of using this service is that you will be able to monitor updates as your request is processed. You can also pay for any fees associated with your request.
Get Your Pasco County Accident Reports by Email or Phone Request
You may request your Pasco County accident report via email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling the Sheriff’s Office at 813-996-6882, but this is not always the most efficient method of communication.
Get Your Pasco County Accident Report in Person
You may obtain your Pasco County accident report in person at the Pasco County Sheriff’s Office during normal business hours. The sheriff’s office address is as follows: 8700 Citizens Drive New Port Richey, FL 34654
Who Can Request a Pasco County Accident Report?
Florida accident reports are available to the public 60 days after the crash. If you were in the accident, Florida State Statute 316.066(5)(a) states that you may receive access sooner. Officers have 10 days to file the report. In addition to parties to the accident, there are other people and entities who may be permitted to access the report, including:
- Legal representatives of parties involved,
- The parties’ insurance agents,
- Office of the State Attorney,
- Television and radio stations, and
- State or federal agencies authorized to access the report.
You may be required to provide identification proving that you fit into one of these categories, though by submitting a request, you are asserting that you are entitled to the report.
Why Is Having Your Pasco County Accident Report Important?
Your first step toward recovery will likely begin with contacting your insurance company. Florida is a no-fault state, which means that your personal auto insurance coverage should reimburse you for medical expenses relating to your accident, no matter who was at fault.
There is an exception if insurance does not cover the cost of your expenses or your injuries are deemed “serious.” In that case, you may be able to seek damages from another at-fault party. Obtaining your Pasco County accident report may be an important piece of evidence when negotiating with your insurance company or if you decide to pursue litigation.
What Information Does an Accident Report Include?
Each official Florida accident report must contain certain information, including:
- Time and date of the accident;
- Exact location where the accident occurred;
- The number of vehicles that were involved in the accident;
- Contact information for all drivers in the crash;
- Insurance information for each driver:
- Details about each vehicle, including make, model, and damage;
- Contributing factors such as weather conditions or alcohol;
- Crash report diagram which lays out how the accident occurred;
- Time the officers were informed that the accident occurred;
- When the officers arrived on the scene; and
- The narrative from the officer, including information not stated anywhere else in the report.
This information is important for identifying and contacting other drivers. The officer narrative, crash report diagram, and section on contributing causes generally explain what happened in the accident and will be crucial if determining fault does become necessary.
Should You Hire an Attorney?
Seeking counsel from an experienced Pasco accident attorney is your best bet for securing maximum compensation.
The Law Office of Wendy Doyle Palumbo will start by obtaining your Pasco County accident report on your behalf. One of the crucial points of receiving maximum compensation for your injuries is determining how much you deserve so you know how much you are willing to accept in a settlement.
We can analyze the cost of your injuries and property damage to help you understand fair compensation and negotiate with insurance companies. If fair compensation cannot be achieved through insurance company negotiations, we are happy to go to trial and fight for what you deserve.
Schedule your free case consultation today.