How to Get Your Hillsborough County Accident Report
If you have been in a motor vehicle accident and would like to speak with one of the Personal Injury Attorneys at our law firm, call (727) 233-2134 for a free initial consultation and case evaluation.
Hillsborough County alone suffers nearly 25,000 crashes every year.
Some of the most dangerous highways in the Tampa Bay area include I-75, Dale Mabry Highway, and US Route 19.
A Hillsborough County accident report, known locally as a traffic crash report, is one of the most important items of evidence that you can use to obtain fair compensation.
Florida Statutes Section 316.066 governs the process of obtaining a traffic crash report in Florida.
Confidentiality of Hillsborough County Accident Reports
Hillsborough County accident reports are confidential by law for the first 60 days after they are filed. One will only be issued to parties to the crash and certain other interested parties during this time.
Florida imposes criminal penalties for obtaining or even attempting to obtain confidential personal information without authorization. Distribution of such information without authorization is a third-degree felony.
Ways to Request a Copy of Your Hillsborough County Accident Report
How to Get Your Accident Report in Person
Within 60 days of the crash (before the accident report has been made public), you can obtain a Hillsborough County traffic accident report in person by completing a Sworn Statement to Obtain Crash Report at the Florida Highway Patrol station nearest where the crash occurred.
You must include the appropriate fee (see below).
How to Get Your Accident Report by Mail
The procedure for obtaining Hillsborough County accident reports by mail is similar to the procedure for picking them up in person. They are public records from 60 days after the crash. Within the 60-day confidentiality period, you must complete a Sworn Statement to Obtain Crash Report and mail it to:
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399
You must include the appropriate fee. You might need to wait four to six weeks to receive the report by mail, by which time it may already be public information.
How to Get Your Hillsborough County Police Crash Report Online
You can obtain a Hillsborough County sheriff accident report online by submitting your request through the Florida Crash Portal. Once you submit your request, the portal will email you a download link, which you must use within 48 hours.
NOTE: The Florida Crash Portal has been experiencing issues providing online reports. If you experience any problem, you may need to obtain the report in person or by mail.
Injured? Don't Delay!
Contact an experienced lawyer now
How Much Does a Hillsborough County Crash Report Cost?
You must pay a fee of $10 per report. If you pay by check, make out the check to ‘FLHSMV.’
There is an additional fee of a total of $2 per order for online orders, no matter how many reports you request per order.
Contact Us for a Free Case Consultation
If you have suffered a car accident injury and need compensation, you don’t need to face the Florida justice system alone.
Wendy Doyle Palumbo has 30 years of experience fighting greedy insurance companies both in and out of court.
Our office is located in Hudson, FL, in the Greater Tampa Bay area.